DENTAL OFFICE

OPENING HOURS

CONTACT US

Gingivale Graft (gum graft)

1. Why a gum graft?

The gingival graft allows to restore thickness and height to the weakened gum, thus stopping its recession. At once restorative, preventive and plastic, this surgery strengthens the supporting tissues to protect the teeth and, often, restore a pretty smile.

 

The gum consists of two tissue layers: the epithelium on the surface and the connective tissue in depth. The gum which is at the base of the tooth without adhering to it is called "free". It continues with the gum "attached" to the root and the alveolar bone. The lower the height of the attached gum, the faster it is necessary to intervene to hope for recovery.

 

Axial section of a molar
and periodontium

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


2. How to correct and stop the gum recession?

The gum covers the root of the teeth and the alveolar bone that holds them in the jaw. The gum graft is used to correct and stop his loss of height or "recession". Bare, the roots are indeed more vulnerable to cavities and dental hypersensitivities which can affect the quality of life. In addition, the teeth seem longer and interdental spaces appear, unattractive manifestations and often badly experienced when they concern the anterior teeth.

 

The gingival recession is linked to the association of:

  • Predisposing factors: shape of the alveolar bone, dental malposition, fine gum, age.

  • Triggering factors: traumatic brushing, bruxism, badly conducted orthodontics, badly adapted crowns or amalgams. Gingivitis and periodontitis are also triggering factors but the bone loss being too important, the gingival graft alone is not indicated.

 

 

3. What type of intervention

During the gum grafting, your periodontologist will take a "piece" of gum or palate, the "graft", to cover the roots exposed by the recession.

  • palate transplant. (Epithelial-conjunctiva). Although the intervention makes it possible to stop the recession, the color difference between the epithelia of the palate and the gum make the result not always 100% aesthetic.

  • "buried connective" transplant: it consists of incising the epithelium of the palate to remove only the connective. "The graft is positioned at the level of the recession and covered with a flap of adjacent gum. This technique leaves fewer scars and produces a gum that looks identical to the adjacent gum.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The gingival graft takes place in three main stages:

  • preparation of the recipient site

  • graft removal

  • its suture at the level of the recession.

 

The operation takes place under local anesthesia.

 

 

4. Prerequisites

Three prerequisites for a gum graft:

  • in the case of general diseases, such as diabetes, hypertension or AIDS., the biological constants must be balanced.

  • the patient must have perfect, non-traumatic oral hygiene.

  • tobacco should be banned several weeks before and after the intervention.

 

5. Post operation

After a gum graft, it is more important than ever to have good oral hygiene.

  • good brushing with fluoride toothpaste,

  • daily dental floss,

  • a healthy diet

  • regular dental and periodontal checkups.

Maintaining healthy gums is essential to maintain your overall oral health and therefore to preserve your smile.

CABINET DENTAIRE

NOS HORAIRES

NOUS CONTACTER

Greffe des gencives ou greffe gingivale

1. Pourquoi une greffe de gencive ?

La greffe gingivale redonne de l'épaisseur et de la hauteur à la gencive affaiblie, ce qui stoppe sa récession. À la fois réparatrice, préventive et plastique, cette chirurgie vient renforcer les tissus de soutien pour protéger les dents et, souvent, restaurer un joli sourire. 

La gencive comprend deux couches tissulaires : l'épithélium en surface et le conjonctif en profondeur. La gencive qui se trouve à la base de la dent sans y adhérer est dite "libre". Elle se poursuit par la gencive "attachée" sur la racine et l'os alvéolaire. Plus la hauteur de gencive attachée est faible et plus il faut intervenir rapidement pour espérer un recouvrement.

Coupe axiale d’une molaire
et du  parodonte


2. Comment corriger et stopper la récession gingivale ? 

La gencive recouvre la racine des dents et l'os alvéolaire qui les maintient dans la mâchoire. La greffe de gencive est utilisée pour corriger et stopper sa perte de hauteur ou "récession". Dénudées, les racines sont en effet plus vulnérables aux caries et aux hypersensibilités dentaires pouvant altérer la qualité de vie. Par ailleurs, les dents semblent plus longues et des espaces interdentaires apparaissent, des manifestations peu esthétiques et souvent mal vécues lorsqu'elles concernent les dents antérieures. 

La récession gingivale est liée à l'association de :

  • Facteurs prédisposants : forme de l'os alvéolaire, malpositions dentaires, gencive fine, âge.

  • Facteurs déclenchants : brossages traumatiques, bruxisme, orthodontie mal conduite, couronnes ou amalgames mal adaptés. Les gingivites et parodontites sont également des facteurs déclenchants mais la perte osseuse étant trop importante, la greffe gingivale seule n'est pas indiquée. 

3. Quel type d’intervention

La greffe de gencive consiste à prélever un "morceau" de gencive ou de palais, le "greffon", pour recouvrir les racines dénudées par la récession.

  • greffe du palais (épithélio-conjonctive). Bien que l'intervention permet de stopper la récession, la différence de couleur, entre les épithéliums du palais et de la gencive rendent le résultat pas toujours 100% esthétique.

  • greffe de "conjonctif enfoui": elle consiste à inciser l'épithélium du palais pour ne prélever que du conjonctif. "Le greffon est positionné au niveau de la récession et recouvert d'un lambeau de gencive adjacente. Cette technique laisse moins de cicatrices et produit une gencive d'aspect identique à la gencive adjacente

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

L'intervention se déroule en trois grandes étapes :

  • La préparation du site receveur

  • Le prélèvement du greffon

  • Sa suture au niveau de la récession.

L'intervention a lieu sous anesthésie locale.

4. Contre-indications et précautions

  • ,le patient présentant une maladie générale, comme le diabète, l'hypertension, le sida... doit présenter des constantes biologiques équilibrées

  • le patient doit avoir acquis une hygiène bucco-dentaire parfaite et non traumatisante

  • le patient ne doit plus fumer du tabac plusieurs semaines avant et après l'intervention