Some nutrition tips

Get your child used to drinking water and only water during meals, first of all for reasons of nutritional balance, but also for his teeth health !!!


Sodas and sweets : they should only be consumed exceptionally (birthdays, etc.), if possible only during the snack, especially not throughout the afternoon, otherwise the acidity triggered by absorption is repeated with each ingestion. and is all the more effective in "attacking" the surface of the teeth. Sodas, even without sugar, contain powerful acids (phosphoric, tartaric and / or citric acid !!!) which are very cariogenic ... It is preferable to drink with a straw. It reduces the contact of the acid with the teeth.


Sugar-free products are false friends because they give your dependent child "sweet taste" that he will try to satisfy later on with or without sugar !!!


The hunt for hidden sugars : chips and snack cakes, ketchup, medicine in syrup, throat lozenges or homeopathy...for medicines to be taken "at bedtime", give them well before brushing, because at night we make less saliva (protective for the teeth).

 

For children who can't brush their teeth at lunchtime, chewing sugar-free gum for at least 5 minutes greatly reduces acid attack (it doesn't replace brushing, but it's better than nothing...).


Opt for so-called detergent foods like crunchy fresh fruits and vegetables. Avoid foods that are too soft, such as fast-food that do not require any chewing effort. The simple fact of chewing first creates friction that partially removes plaque. Then chewing stimulates salivation. This flushes out food particles and lowers the pH.

Download the sheet

DENTAL PRACTICE

Implantology, Periodontology, Smile Aesthetics

Résidence Divonne Centre

Entry F (3rd floor)

76, Grande Rue

01220 Divonne-les-Bains

Ain, France (map)

OPENING HOURS

From Monday to Friday

08:30 to 19:00

by appointment only

Covid-19 Measures
 

CONTACT US

MORE INFO

CABINET DENTAIRE

NOS HORAIRES

NOUS CONTACTER

Quelques conseils de nutrition

Habituez votre enfant à boire de l’eau, et uniquement de l’eau lors des repas tout d’abord pour des raisons d’équilibre nutritionnel, ensuite la santé de ses dents !!! 


Sodas et bonbons : ils ne doivent être consommés que de façon exceptionnelle (anniversaires…), si possible au cours du goûter surtout pas tout au long de l’après midi en grignotage sinon l’acidité déclenchée par l’absorption se répète à chaque ingestion et est d’autant plus efficace pour « attaquer » la surface des dents. Les sodas, même sans sucre contiennent des acides puissants(acide phosphorique, tartrique et/ou citrique !!!) très cariogènes… Il est préférable de boire à la paille. Elle permet de diminuer le contact de l’acide avec les dents.


Les produits sans sucre sont de faux amis car ils donnent à votre enfant la dépendance au « goût sucré » qu’il cherchera à satisfaire plus tard avec ou sans sucre !!!


La chasse aux sucres cachés : chips et gâteaux d’apéritif, ketchup, médicament en sirop, pastilles pour la gorge ou homéopathie…pour les médicaments à prendre « au coucher », bien les donner avant le brossage, car la nuit, nous fabriquons moins de salive (protectrice pour les dents)…

 

Pour les enfants qui ne peuvent pas se brosser les dents à midi, mastiquer un chewing-gum sans sucre pendant au moins 5 minutes réduit beaucoup l’attaque acide (ça ne remplace pas le brossage mais c’est mieux que rien…).


Optez pour des aliments dits détergents comme les fruits et les légumes frais croquants. Evitez les aliments trop mous type fast-food ne nécessitant aucun effort de mastication. Le simple fait de mastiquer crée d’abord un frottement qui déloge en partie la plaque dentaire. Ensuite la mastication  stimule la salivation. Celle-ci chasse les particules d’aliments et fait baisser le pH.
 

Télécharger la fiche